

### **MEETING MINUTES**

Work Group:	Academic Support Subcommittee			
Meeting Date:	Thursday, March 20, 2025			
Meeting Time:	3:30 p.m.			
Attendees:	Michael Webber and Michael Krasulski (co-chairs), Kathryn Birster, Wendy Kohler, Brenda Torres, Darren Lipscomb, Megan Barbano-Maxwell			
Facilitators:	Michael Krasulski and Michael Webber			
Guests:	N/A			
Location:	Virtual – ZOOM (https://ccp.zoom.us/j/96495042875?from=addon)			
Topic:	2024-2025 ASC Policy Reviews and continued discussion regarding in-person learning and course cancellation			

### **Discussion Points**

# Call to order

#### Attendance

• Noted in the "Attendees" section above

# **Standing Reports**

- Course Cancellation Sub-Group Darren Lipscomb and Max Hassel
- Course Modality Sub-Group Michael Webber and Michael Krasulski

Conversations will continue but likely won't make it to policy this year. Course cancellations are currently under review with the bargaining units and include light changes to how faculty are compensated.

#### **Old Business**

- Memorandum #7: Credit by Examination Darren Lipscomb Follow-up/ Up for Vote. At the February meeting everyone was on board with the suggested changes. The last remaining question is regarding when fees is assessed. As per Darren, students will have until end of next term to pay the fee. Specific fee amounts will not be included in the policy. Michael Krasulski made a motion to approve and move Memorandum #7 to the IWC, the motion was seconded by Darren Lipscomb. All in favor. Approved.
- Memorandum #10: Academic and Time Amnesty Brenda confirmed academic amnesty goes through counseling not academic advising even when a student is in good standing. There was a brief discussion around who "owns" the policy as opposed to "what is the practice". Michael Webber suggested that ownership doesn't need to be stated provided the procedure is outlined in the policy.

Michael Krasulski made a motion to approve and move Memorandum #10 to the IWC, the motion was seconded by Brenda Torres. All in favor. Approved.

- Memorandum #12: Policy on Transfer Credit There was a discussion regarding whether the college will only accept credits from an accredited institution, what impact that may have on students from school that have closed and what impact it may have on our Credit for Prior Learning policy. It was agreed to invite someone from Academic and Student Success to attend the next meeting to further discuss this.
- Memorandum #17: Academic Program Discontinuation Michael Webber noted the Dean Vishal Shah had questions about the memo. The committee will pause on review until the April meeting and someone from Academic and Student Success will be invited.

## **New Business**

N/A

A motion was made by Michael Krasulski at 4:13 p.m. to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Darren Lipscomb. All in favor and motion to adjourn was carried.

2024-2025 Delegates						
Appointees	Alternates	Delegates	Alternates	Delegates	Alternatives	
Megan Barbano- Maxwell	Wendy Kohler	Kathryn Birster	Ritanne O'Brien Duszak	Tala Takealden	Max Hassel	
Antonio Cobas	Brad Kovaleski	Michael Krasulski	Cynthia Paul	Jaritsa Hernandez- Orsini	Donny Mutiva	
Darren Lipscomb	Nicole Rayfield	Amy Lewis	Brenda Torres	Glenn Macartney	Paulina Reyes	
Michael Webber	Lisa Sanders	Edward Parker		Ivone Santiago	Francis Scales	